Tip: Remove-BranchesWithUpstreamGone

Wait, I Thought I Deleted That Branch?

One of the things that I found counter-intuitive when I was getting started with Git is that when branches are deleted on the server they are still present in your local repository, even after you have fetched from the server.

We typically delete the source branch when completing a pull request, so this happens a lot. Usually, once the PR has been…

Continue Reading james’s Article on their blog

Tip: Remove-BranchesWithUpstreamGone

Wait, I Thought I Deleted That Branch? One of the things that I found counter-intuitive when I was getting started with Git is that when branches are deleted on the server they are still present in your local repository, even after you have fetched from the server.

Blog Syndicated with james’s Permission

Author: James Pearson

Share This Post On